Social Icons

twitterfacebooklinkedinrss feedemail

Sunday, 21 December 2014

EDCTP Call for Proposals: Funds of 15M Euros to Address Poverty Related Diseases in Sub Saharan Africa

Deadline: 2 March 2015

The European & Developing Countries Clinical Trials Partnership (EDCTP) is currently accepting proposals from Sub Saharan Africa to diagnose tools for poverty related diseases. The purpose of this call is to provide funding to projects focusing on validation of the clinical performance and/or implementation of new or improved diagnostic tools and technologies for detection of any of the poverty-related diseases (PRDs) and neglected infectious diseases (NIDs).

Through this programme, the EDCTP aims to accelerate the development of new or improved drugs, vaccines, microbicides and diagnostics against HIV/AIDS, tuberculosis and malaria as well as other poverty-related and neglected infectious diseases in sub-Saharan Africa, with a focus on clinical trials.

The call budget is 15M Euros and the number of grants available is 4 to 8.

Focus Diseases

Poverty-related diseases (PRDs) that include HIV/AIDS, Malaria and Tuberculosis.
Neglected infectious diseases (NIDs) that include dengue/severe dengue; rabies; human African trypanosomiasis (sleeping sickness); Leishmaniases; cysticercosis/taeniasis; dracunculiasis (guinea-worm disease); echinococcosise; foodborne trematodiases; lymphatic filariasis; onchocerciasis (river blindness); schistosomiasis; soil-transmitted helminthiases; Buruli ulcer; leprosy (Hansen disease); trachoma; yaws; as well as emerging infectious diseases of particular relevance for Africa, such as Ebola.

Focus Countries

Legal entities in the following Sub-Saharan African countries are eligible to apply:

Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Democratic Republic of Congo, Republic of Congo, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Ivory Coast, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, São Tomé & Príncipe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Sudan, South Africa, Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe.


Deadline for letters of intent- March 2015
Deadline for full applications- 7 July 2015

Eligibility Criteria

Applicants must be from mentioned Sub-Saharan African countries.
Before applying, applicants are required to register under EDCTP grants system.
Proposals must be between 36 and 60 months duration allowing this specific challenge (PRDs) to be addressed appropriately.
All participants in the project must sign a consortium agreement prior to the conclusion of the EDCTP2 grant agreement.
Consortia can be comprised of a minimum of three different legal entities independent of each other. (Two of the legal entities must be established in two different European Participating States of the EDCTP Association and one of the legal entities must be established in a sub-Saharan African country)

Application Procedure

This is a two-stage application procedure comprising the following steps:

First stage: A letter of intent must be submitted by the applicants before mentioned deadline. The evaluation results for the first stage will be available by 30 April 2015.
Second stage: Successful applicants in the first stage will be invited to submit a full proposal by 7 July 2015. The evaluation results for the second stage will be available by 30 September 2015.
The application must be submitted online via EDCTP grants.

For more information and application form, visit EDCTP Call for Proposals.